top of page

Puppy, Jobs, and Writing Adventures. Oh My!

Updated: Jan 14, 2023


Sylvia woodham writing dog

Let's start with the big news! Puppy has a ticket to fly!

Ok, now the intro. My first blog post in a month because I have not had the bandwidth at all. I started my job finally and have had three weeks of training so far. But two weeks before that, the shit had hit the fan with some drama in my building, and I needed to regime the puppy. It has been a no room at the inn situation. No rescue groups, foster homes, or shelters with any room. No kennels with any room except for one that charged twice my rent.

It has been a stressful month trying to start work (and fight for) solutions, particularly that didn't throw away my investment with the puppy and allowed him to stay in the family. That's why I haven't been able to write any blog posts.

Tons of new job anxiety. I haven't worked for anyone else in several years because my last several experiences were toxic. My last boss refused to pay me. On top of that a lot of toxic group environment experiences coming into the writing groups where people just start talking behind my back and complaining about me, because I show up with focus and goals. I have had months of anxiety, on top of the shitstorm with neighbour and landlord and puppy, that my new work environment was going to be more of the same. Sure enough after three weeks, some of the guys, in particular, from the Baltics (you wonder why I made that a type in one of my stories), are asking inappropriate questions like who is married, and then one of them made an inappropriate comment that not everyone is as old as I am! For months before the job started, I have been having long sessions with my father to prep for the inevitable group environment where I get singled out. And WHAT DO I DO WITH A DOG!


Just days before the puppy had to be out I found a university student who was available long term with a weekly rate to give me time to figure out travel. International flights have been nuts. Even though prices are ridiculously low, the number of airlines transporting pets post pandemic is limited. Originally I was trying to find another traveller who could check the dog as baggage. Then a miracle happened and I was told I could take time off.

Week before last my ONLY project for seven days was just to FIND a flight I could take and get the dates approved to take time off after training to travel. myself. Last Saturday pieces all feel into place! What a relief. I'm exhausted and I have't even taken the trip yet!

This week the puppy had his vet visit to get his travel health check done. I have to go week after this to get my travel docs sorted. I did forget to ask for the sedative, so that, a hotel reservation and train tickets, need to be resolved. Almost there! I introduced the puppy as Cinderella dog. He started in a box on a street in Romania, to Germany where he grew up a bit, and will have a happy ending in a big house, with a big yard, and trips to the mountains with my dad.


So WHAT ABOUT WRITING? Right? Feels like such a full plate.

In addition to my first critique partner who has been working out well, I was happy to get in a Beta reader matching group that Bianca Marius of TWNOTYAW podcast variety. Meeting a new group of fantasy writers to explore relationships. I'm a bit spoiled with my current cp who approaches story telling from the high concept nerdy level I do. That's definitely clicking really well with my style, and he also brings highly developed writing skills to the table already.

I rounded out this difficult month with the wonderful opportunity to read from the WIP novel at Strong Women Strange Worlds. The time change this week creates this one week of the year where the time difference is five hours instead of six, and that threw a wrench in things, leaving me scrambling to make it. Thankfully I was the last person reading and made in just before going on! Really grateful to the wonderful organizers there for making that happen.


I can definitely use some more happy endings coming my way!

49 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page